Chevron Left
Back to Modeling Risk and Realities

Modeling Risk and Realities, University of Pennsylvania

4.6
1,245 ratings
168 reviews

About this Course

Useful quantitative models help you to make informed decisions both in situations in which the factors affecting your decision are clear, as well as in situations in which some important factors are not clear at all. In this course, you can learn how to create quantitative models to reflect complex realities, and how to include in your model elements of risk and uncertainty. You’ll also learn the methods for creating predictive models for identifying optimal choices; and how those choices change in response to changes in the model’s assumptions. You’ll also learn the basics of the measurement and management of risk. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to build your own models with your own data, so that you can begin making data-informed decisions. You’ll also be prepared for the next course in the Specialization....

Top reviews

By JN

Apr 13, 2018

covers good amount of material and exactly what is in the outline, presented with enough detail to follow. Good walk-through of the spreadsheets helps understanding, easy to follow along and practice.

By LC

Dec 19, 2016

Material was very well presented. Week 3 was challenging, but taking time to print out the slides, work through them rigorously proved very helpful. I found all sections very, very informative.

Filter by:

163 Reviews

By Zhongyuan Zhou

Feb 22, 2019

Crystal clear! Very helpful! I love the slides and excel sheets!

By Adrian Josue Martinez Sanchez

Feb 20, 2019

Great to get in the world of real uncertainty and model designing, great profeessors

By SIYUAN YAO

Feb 19, 2019

The content is very clear except in week 3. It is too theoretical and doesn't have any example to support. While I asked some questions in forum, there is no staff come to help me to solve my questions.

By Anupriya

Feb 15, 2019

Amazing experience

By abaluodufa

Feb 06, 2019

This course deserves a 5 star rating because of Prof. Savin but because of Prof Veeraraghavan, I gave it a 3.

Prof Savin's attention to detail and ability to explain complex concepts in a simple way is a gift indeed. He taught week 1, 2 and 4.

Week 3 with Prof Veeraraghavan however, was a different ballgame. Week 3 was an overload of theoretical statistical probability concepts with little or no explanation whatsoever. No explanation on reading chi square tables, no explanation on the calculation of pdf and cdf etc. I was lost when it was time for week 3 quizzes and I gained zero knowledge from week 3.I recommend that Prof. Savin creates a new video for week 3 as I am sure he will teach the courses therein much much better.

By Elisa González

Feb 05, 2019

Q

u

i

z

z

e

s

a

r

e

m

u

c

h

b

e

t

t

e

r

u

n

d

e

r

s

t

o

o

d

By Ashish kumar jaiswal

Feb 02, 2019

So nice it provide concept how to deals with the risk associated with market.

By Prateek Sarin

Jan 25, 2019

Great Course

By Preetty Gupta

Jan 23, 2019

very useful

By Niket Jain

Jan 22, 2019

Excellent illustrations on Excel. However, in my opinion, Week 3 can be improved.