Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

What is Data Science? , IBM

4.6
2,978 ratings
499 reviews

About this Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

By PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

By RB

Nov 07, 2018

Its a very basic course on Data Science. It is for someone who is just getting started with data science. It will give an over all picture of what data science is all about and how to go about it.

Filter by:

493 Reviews

By Ilse Beatriz Zubieta Martínez

Dec 11, 2018

Great beginning path for those of us who are looking to become data scientists!

By Ayaz Gul Malik

Dec 11, 2018

The course gives a clear understanding of what is data science, who are data scientists, what activities do they perform, and what are the essential characteristics one must possess in order to become a data scientist. However in terms of content, a bit less satisfying.

By Oludayo

Dec 11, 2018

I didn't expect this style of lecture. Still to be convinced. Mostly interviews. I think the approach should be changed.

By DJAMKAM TCHATCHA PAUL BERTRAND

Dec 11, 2018

Very useful introduction to Data Science world

By Shivam Dimri

Dec 11, 2018

A very very basic course...

By Wanji

Dec 10, 2018

It gives a very first impression about what data science is and what a data scientist does.

By gregorius airlangga

Dec 10, 2018

Lovely !

By Shiva Shankaran S

Dec 09, 2018

This course helps in gaining a high level understanding of what is data science. Thank you coursera.

By Subhadeep Sen

Dec 09, 2018

I just learned a lot about Data Science and I'm curious about learning more about it. This chapter gave me an excellent overview about Data Science.

Thank You

By Heba Mushtaha

Dec 09, 2018

Thank you for the introductory course. The videos are very simple and rich in information at the same time. It's a motivator to resume in the certification.