Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

What is Data Science? , IBM

4.6
8,054 ratings
1,269 reviews

About this Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

By PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

By BB

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

Filter by:

1,262 Reviews

By Fatima Ghaffaari

Apr 21, 2019

Even though I can not pass the quizzes and final assignment*, I have watched the videos and read the readings and answered the questions and I found this course very very very useful, because I am new at Data Science and this course give me the overview of what is data Science really is and How can someone become a Data Scientist. I really thanks Coursers and IBM. :)

*P.S: I am in Iran. Unfortunately there is a lot of problems being an Iranian. There are sanctions and limits against Iranian "People". But it is very sad that these people were not be able to use these free educational material. I passed courses in Coursera but I Can not get certificate because the name of my country were not in the list. We are also a human being.

With respect :)

Fatima Ghaffaari

By Riyaz Roshan

Apr 21, 2019

The content and presentation are engaging and top-notch. Do not miss out on this awesome course on emerging trends.

By Derrick Kim

Apr 21, 2019

I was happy to listen to voices of various data scientists all over the world. In addition, passionate and generous, and also motivated instructors were gifts for me.

By Jilajeet Singh

Apr 21, 2019

good lectures

By Fernando Schlitter Ruiz-Sandoval

Apr 21, 2019

Excellent introductory course for Data Science.

By Ivo Ayala

Apr 21, 2019

Great introduction to Data Science.

By william cozzolino

Apr 20, 2019

It’s a very good overview of Data Science, how it’s evolved and the wide array of roles data scientists and this discipline play in companies across a range of industry types.

By Edilson Baloi

Apr 20, 2019

It gave me a great initial insight on data science, and the components that make up a data scientist. Looking forward for week 2

By Andre Costa Nogueira dos Santos

Apr 20, 2019

It is a good introduction to Data Science, but in my opinion did not have to be an individual course.

By Ibad Rather

Apr 20, 2019

Its just basic info.