Chevron Left
Back to What is Data Science?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is Data Science? by IBM

4.6
10,608 ratings
1679 reviews

About the Course

The art of uncovering the insights and trends in data has been around since ancient times. The ancient Egyptians used census data to increase efficiency in tax collection and they accurately predicted the flooding of the Nile river every year. Since then, people working in data science have carved out a unique and distinct field for the work they do. This field is data science. In this course, we will meet some data science practitioners and we will get an overview of what data science is today. LIMITED TIME OFFER: Subscription is only $39 USD per month for access to graded materials and a certificate....

Top reviews

BB

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

PD

Jul 19, 2018

I thought this course introduced the topic of data science very well. I think I have a much better idea how to describe data science and common terms associated with the field (like machine learning).

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,731 Reviews for What is Data Science?

By Kevin M

Mar 25, 2019

Very basic course, to be honest. The grading seemed to be dependent on memorizing exact quotes from videos. Looking forward to some of the more advanced courses in this series.

By Jianfei Z

Jan 10, 2019

Too much introduction. There is no need to spend so much time on it. People that take this course usually understand what is data science. they need to learn real knowledge, not spend the whole week on introduction.

By Robert C

May 23, 2019

Good overview of data science, its history, and uses of data science.

By CHIN-HUNG, Y

May 23, 2019

Good for fundamental knowledge of data science and data scientists.

It is also inspiring for young people like me to get ready to step into the world of data science.

Great course

By Pooja S

Apr 19, 2019

Too basic.

If you live under a rock and have never heard of Data Science, a Data Scientist or any terms related to this industry then this is a wonderful course for you.

For everyone else, it is a total waste of time.

By Mark L

Jan 26, 2019

This course is not consistent with someone who would sign up for an entire certificate. This course is more suitable as a recruitment tool for a certificate program. Watching these videos was an absolute waste of my time.

By lianghui t

Jan 15, 2019

useless, wasting time

By Aman J

Jan 05, 2019

Videos often have disjointed or unrelated elements. Final week quizzes and mid-video questions often have useless or otherwise unhelpful reading questions. An example from week three's final quiz, "True or False: The Untied States Economic Forecast is a publication by McKinsey University Press." The answer is false and is covered in the reading, but the question has absolutely nothing to do with data science.

By longmen

May 06, 2019

I have learnt about what the data science is and it's basic knowledge. I am glad I took the course. I will continue finishing the rest of the courses.

By Akshay B

Apr 04, 2019

This is a great course for anyone willing to start exploring the field of Data Science. It starts with basic definitions with proper examples that helps one understand this field with a greater ease!

By Lauren J

Mar 22, 2019

This was a good introductory course, especially as someone with basically zero experience in the field. I've been struggling with where to begin (should I take a course on Python? R? What languages are even useful? WTF is cloud computing?) And this course gave me a good starting off point. That said, it wasn't technical AT ALL. It's really just a bunch of "fireside chats" with data scientists, talking about the languages they use, what concepts they're used for, what knowledge is necessary and what isn't, etc. If you're looking for a "roadmap" to continue learning on Coursera, this is it.

This is exactly what I feel the college experience gives students that online or self-taught learning lacks: context. AKA there are a billion courses on Python on Coursera, but none explain WHY I'm learning Python. This course does that. I'd recommend this course for anyone looking to start with data science from zero.

By Bradly

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent quality content! It's a great introductory course that really gets you interested in Data Science. I would highly recommend it to anyone curious in learning about what Data Science is about.

By Huyen P

Jan 14, 2019

Good contents and brief understanding about Data Science

By Vincent Z

Jan 07, 2019

This is really an introductory course, and there is not much to be learned, not a single line of programming or a single chart generated. But it can all be done in a single day, so it is a necessary evil to reach the good stuff in the specialization, I guess.

By Chan H D L

Jan 04, 2019

Very informative and presented by respected individuals with a passion for the field. The only critique is that the material might be a little outdated as it seems to have been created around 2014-2015.

By Mahesh K

Jan 03, 2019

It encompasses fine details to introduce data science and explore data scientists as a career.

By Kanchan P

Jan 03, 2019

This is a very good introduction to what actually is data science! Lot of people gets really confused with the definitions and area!

By Julian L G

Jan 03, 2019

Very, very basic... completely useless and a waste of time. I feel like the only purpose of this course is to drag out the certification process so that it costs you more money...

By Nathan S

Jan 03, 2019

This was a nice and easy course, but the material was quite obvious and not new and could be included in one week lessons of another course.

By Andrew F

Jan 03, 2019

Great introduction to Data Science!

By Erik M

Jan 03, 2019

Friendly and gentle introduction to data science! Can't wait to go further...

By Sergi

Jan 01, 2019

Direct to the point. Increases one's passion to study Data Science by summarizing the main topics. Simple and brilliant

By Dwight F

Jan 01, 2019

It does in fact answer a basic, fundamental question; what is Data Science?

By Mateusz K

Dec 31, 2018

Quite vague and repetetive, I didn't feel like there is a structure in the course, more like a collection of random thoughts by various people. It's more an introduction to what data scientists think about data science than an introduction to data science itself.

By souro

Dec 31, 2018

It was a good introduction for everyone even novice.