Chevron Left
Back to Wind Energy

Wind Energy, Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.7
1,353 ratings
389 reviews

About this Course

How tall is a modern wind turbine and how can it possibly generate power from the wind? This course gives an overview of key aspects in wind energy engineering. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in wind energy engineering, 'Wind Energy' is an excellent starting point. Experts located in the wind pioneering country of Denmark will take you on a tour through the most fundamental disciplines of wind energy research such as wind measurements and resource assessment, aerodynamics, wind turbine technology, structural mechanics, materials, financial and electrical systems. You will gain a rational understanding of wind energy engineering and, through hands-on exercises, you will learn to perform wind energy calculations based on simple models. Working with the different course disciplines will give you a taste of what wind energy engineering is all about. This allows you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects of wind energy engineering to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career. View our video: https://youtu.be/he4UWTGHxrY...

Top reviews

By VG

Nov 15, 2016

Very intersting course, using various fields of engineering (mechanics, structures, fluid dynamics, electricty...) and project management. Recommanded to have a good overview of wind energy !

By MK

Jan 28, 2019

from introduction to design and effects of the environment wind speed, design of blade, generation and integration to the grid this course cover all, very informative and well explained.

Filter by:

376 Reviews

By Jonathan Conrad Corbett

Feb 19, 2019

An absolutely excellent course covering all the basics of wind power and its generation. There's additional resources in each section for anyone who wants to dive deep into one particular topic. For a topic so huge and advanced, this course is excellent. I recommend it to all my engineering friends with an interest in understanding wind power.

By senthilmurugan

Feb 19, 2019

Excellent

By Mark A Danaczko

Feb 19, 2019

The course lectures and materials for each module (total of 9) are well prepared and presented. The actual learning is via the quiz given after each module. However, what is lacking is a "capstone design or project" module that ties all of the previous modules together. This final module would use the learnings and computer-based models developed in the pre

By Juan Leskar (BMc)

Feb 12, 2019

Very interesting course.

By Joy Smith

Feb 11, 2019

Suspect this is a good grounding in the subject. I did not care to follow the more technical aspects.

By mustapha

Feb 11, 2019

merci beaucoup sur ce sujet qui' est très intéressant .merci de refaire ce MOOC en français ou bien en sous titre en français

By Guilherme Dalledonne

Feb 08, 2019

It is a good introduction to the subject and I have learned a lot. However, in several parts of the course I expected more detailed explanations. Maybe an extra week would help.

By Ayron Dalzell

Feb 07, 2019

The class was very informative, however, I think having some of the equations worked out would be beneficial. Some units were frustrating because some of the answers I got the first time were not correct, and I was unsure why without worked examples. Otherwise I really enjoyed the class and the information presented.

By Kamal NZOULOU

Jan 30, 2019

very interesting course

By MUHAMMAD JUNAID KHAN

Jan 28, 2019

from introduction to design and effects of the environment wind speed, design of blade, generation and integration to the grid this course cover all, very informative and well explained.