Chevron Left
Back to English Composition I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English Composition I by Duke University

4.6
374 ratings
102 reviews

About the Course

You will gain a foundation for college-level writing valuable for nearly any field. Students will learn how to read carefully, write effective arguments, understand the writing process, engage with others' ideas, cite accurately, and craft powerful prose. Course Learning Objectives • Summarize, analyze, question, and evaluate written and visual texts • Argue and support a position • Recognize audience and disciplinary expectations • Identify and use the stages of the writing process • Identify characteristics of effective prose • Apply proper citation practices • Discuss applying your writing knowledge to other writing occasions...

Top reviews

JR

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

HL

Apr 13, 2017

Great experience, nonetheless, I would say that it is more about applying your writing to different contexts rather than improving it. There is some of that, but not that much.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 101 Reviews for English Composition I

By Bob L

Jul 29, 2016

She is a wonderful Teacher. Thanks for sharing..

By César A R S

Jun 11, 2017

This course enabled me to acchieve clarity, cohesion and deepness to all my english writings. I am very grateful with Coursera and Pr. Comer's staff for developing this course. I've just take the TOEFL test and I am very sure that it helped me to improve my test's score.

By Shravya H

Nov 07, 2016

This course really helped me improve my academic writing skills. The videos are detailed, and can be understood easily. The writing assignments are always easy to understand, and can be done. Professor Comer teaches us very well. I'm in 8th grade, and because of this course, I can write college level pieces.

By Natnael G T

Mar 10, 2018

it's great. please keep up all the good work.

By khalilullah H

Oct 18, 2017

the course is amazing. thanks

By Tasneem R

Jun 24, 2017

i’ts very useful

By sebastien m

Aug 21, 2017

This was a very enjoyable course. If you do all the work seriously you can really stretch your skills. Dr. Denise Comer has worked very hard to provide all the prompts you need to explore your skills as a writer. She is encouraging at all times and has a very friendly and relaxed style and also an immense amount of knowledge on the subject.

By Isabella Q

Nov 13, 2017

It was an amazing experience to improve my wrinting skills in English. I feel grateful to learn as much as I did in this course. Thanks!

By xiaoxiang

Dec 18, 2016

It's useful for scholar writing.

By 陈文怡

Jun 28, 2018

fantastic

By Jon R

Mar 08, 2017

Very helpful for writers and future career writers. Plus the professor is extremely down to earth. Was not expecting that and I forgive her for being a Duke fan. Go Tar Heels!!!! jk jk

By Prince

Oct 27, 2017

This was a very great learning experience for me

By PEDRO P R C

Jul 13, 2016

Wonderful course, really enjoyable !!!

By Anny G

Jul 26, 2017

The most interesting a useful course that I ever took!

By 胡启涛

Oct 29, 2016

Thanks for providing this excellent course. I really want to improve my skills to write and think academicly.

By Allwin K J

Dec 26, 2016

An extensive course for those trying to master academic writing

By Ayşe Ö

May 29, 2017

Thank you for this course, ms. Denise Comer

By Lucy I D L R T

Mar 31, 2017

This course gives fabulous tools to encourage the writer. From first using your own life as a reference, and that helps to recognize that you have material to write, since each of us, is a book to know.

By Melanie K

Apr 03, 2017

Thank you for not putting writers in a box! This class is amazing!

By Alex B

Sep 09, 2017

This is an amazing course and I truly loved all the lessons.

By Salvatore S

Aug 17, 2017

A course every advanced English learner should take.

By Anna H

Aug 19, 2016

The course is everything I expected it to be! It offers a wide range of interesting and challenging assingments as well as very developed theoretical background. Professor Cromer explains everything in a clear and understandable way. I strongly recommend this course!

By Noel J V B

Sep 26, 2016

It is a very good course for learning how to write well.

By Manuel B

Apr 11, 2017

Excelente

By Carlos A O P

Feb 07, 2018

A great opportunity to engage with writing and learning how approach the writing process in a more easy and way. In my case, I rapidly start enjoying writing after the first week of the course.