Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.6
220 ratings
59 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

DB

May 04, 2019

Excellent course for basic knowledge of spectroscopy. The syllabus is very precisely designed for providing a deep understanding of various spectral techniques.

ES

Apr 03, 2018

Excellent material and pace. Assignments were challenging but could be completed from the lecture material alone. Overall a great experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 61 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Allison A

Apr 14, 2019

Okay explanations; would appreciate more readings and examples. Moreover, answers to quizzes aren't explained. Things could also be explained more intuitively in the videos.

By Sayan s

Jun 25, 2018

The practicals and the quiz series were awesome.This course is awesome for chemistry lovers and also for Chemical engineering guys.

By Jay G

Jun 23, 2019

Overall Course was good, I had gained enough knowledge regarding the basic of spectroscopy. This course is worth for the chemistry and chemical background students.

By Marcos L C

Jun 10, 2019

I like too much this course because it is more difficult than another online courses.

By Ketan P

Jun 05, 2019

A very good intro course with excellent quiz material and lecture notes.

By Nedyu Y

Jun 04, 2019

I liked the course, attended it as a refresher, not really needed right now for my work. Basic principles explained properly, exam questions slightly away from the course material, which was indeed informative. More example and practical consideration would have been positively received.

Looking forward for similar courses in chromatography and MS.

By Subuhan A A A

May 19, 2019

Very helpful in creating a clear-cut view regarding the marvelous world of molecular spectroscopy. Significant packets of knowledge about UV/Visible spectroscopy, IR spectroscopy NMR spectroscopy can be earned through this course. Highly recommended for a UG/PG Chemistry student.

By DIPIN D A K

May 11, 2019

nice course

By DrMalay J B

May 04, 2019

Excellent course for basic knowledge of spectroscopy. The syllabus is very precisely designed for providing a deep understanding of various spectral techniques.

By Anastasia K

Apr 13, 2019

This course gives comprehensive overview on various spectroscopic techniques providing a large deal of underlying theory and also technical details in laboratory work.

By Aravind k

Apr 08, 2019

very helpful,learnt new concepts

By Tyler B

Apr 06, 2019

Excellent rigorous course. PERFECT and exactly what I needed to learn.

By Omkar S B

Mar 29, 2019

Really informative course for budding material scientists organic chemists and grad students interested in learning material characterization techniques and the basic chemistry involved in their operation. Instructor is an expert and lab quizzes are practical and fun to solve.

By SAMREEN K

Mar 16, 2019

it was very informative

By David P M F F

Mar 07, 2019

A soft and focused course. Good to learn or review the general principles of UV-VIS, IR and NMR spectoscropy. Not very time consuming.

By Carlos E

Mar 07, 2019

Muy bueno como introducción

By Victor Z

Mar 04, 2019

I really liked the way all the nformation is been organized and explained,

everynthing was very undestandable, thank you very much.

Hope the audio and video recordings get a little bit improved but that's all

By Lydia v D

Feb 25, 2019

Quite the challenge!

By Hardikkumar

Feb 10, 2019

excellent with great demonstration of each chapters.

By Xinyi H

Feb 03, 2019

This course is quite useful as I am now a uni student and this helps me a lot in spectroscopy. Thanks a lot!

By AlaaEddin A

Jan 31, 2019

thank you very much

By Jiban K M

Dec 06, 2018

As far as Spectroscopy literacy is concerned, I think I was sort of illiterate. After completing this course I may consider myself spectroscopy literate, though I may have gathered only a few specs of the vast ocean of spectroscopy. A lot I have to learn and if a combined advanced course including mass spectroscopy is offered I'll be delighted to join. The course content and the presentation are exemplary in my opinion. My indebtedness remains to Dr. Patrick for creating an addicting interest into the subject.

By ANKANA P

Nov 19, 2018

IT HAS HELPED ME A LOT..THANK YOU

By Shrushti

Nov 09, 2018

Helped me in analyzing and interpreting the IR,UV-VIS and NMR spectrums. Great course for a Biotechnologist in the making!

By PRITISH B

Nov 04, 2018

i am really thankful to coursera and university of manchester for this course