Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy, University of Manchester

4.6
173 ratings
46 reviews

About this Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

By ES

Apr 03, 2018

Excellent material and pace. Assignments were challenging but could be completed from the lecture material alone. Overall a great experience.

By JL

Aug 26, 2018

Very recommended to every person who wants to understand the basic ideas, concepts and calculations of current spectroscopic techniques.

Filter by:

44 Reviews

By Hardikkumar

Feb 10, 2019

excellent with great demonstration of each chapters.

By Xinyi Huang

Feb 03, 2019

This course is quite useful as I am now a uni student and this helps me a lot in spectroscopy. Thanks a lot!

By AlaaEddin ALNAHHAS

Jan 31, 2019

thank you very much

By Jiban Kumar Majumdar

Dec 06, 2018

As far as Spectroscopy literacy is concerned, I think I was sort of illiterate. After completing this course I may consider myself spectroscopy literate, though I may have gathered only a few specs of the vast ocean of spectroscopy. A lot I have to learn and if a combined advanced course including mass spectroscopy is offered I'll be delighted to join. The course content and the presentation are exemplary in my opinion. My indebtedness remains to Dr. Patrick for creating an addicting interest into the subject.

By ANKANA PALIT

Nov 19, 2018

IT HAS HELPED ME A LOT..THANK YOU

By Shrushti

Nov 09, 2018

Helped me in analyzing and interpreting the IR,UV-VIS and NMR spectrums. Great course for a Biotechnologist in the making!

By PRITISH BISWAS

Nov 04, 2018

i am really thankful to coursera and university of manchester for this course

By Sujeesh Sukumaran

Oct 07, 2018

Very useful course

By Xiaoyue Zhang

Aug 28, 2018

a helpful course

By Juan Andrés Pino Londoño

Aug 26, 2018

Very recommended to every person who wants to understand the basic ideas, concepts and calculations of current spectroscopic techniques.