Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,536 ratings
12,809 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

JR

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

JS

Aug 14, 2017

I really appreciate the time these guys invested in this course and am willing to take it again if they re-explain some topics in order to refresh some things that with time haven't stayed in my mind.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 12,546 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By unashish m

Dec 26, 2018

Great course

By Krolenko Y

Dec 26, 2018

A lot of useful tecniques, a lot of fun and interesting facts about human brain! It was a pleasure to study.

By Raquelline C

Dec 26, 2018

The amount of techniques that we get from this course help us not only throughout our learning processes but also can be considered life-changing skills: on the moment that we are able to recognise how our brain works, we become more aware on how to master it. I hope I can use those lessons on diverse areas of my life and career.

By Hassan A

Dec 27, 2018

It's very useful topic

By Tina P

Dec 25, 2018

loved it!!

By Dharmesh T

Dec 26, 2018

Definitely learnt quite a lot.

By Breyanna T

Dec 26, 2018

Very informative course, they provide examples as well as the science behind the concepts.

By Laura E C G

Dec 26, 2018

Un excelente curso con tips y recomendaciones sobre como podemos ser mas eficientes en nuestras sesiones de estudio.

By

Dec 30, 2018

Great course

By Harpreet S

Dec 30, 2018

This course will change my life. I having been using all the methods that I shouldn't. Only through this course, I could find correct methods that are efficient and reliable. Huge thanks to the professors who put their time and energy into this course. Thanks for teaching us learning how to learn.

By Wei

Dec 30, 2018

Excellent course! In this course, I got a better understanding of the important concepts of how we learn, and I'll apply them in practice to learn skills

.

By Aisha m

Dec 28, 2018

This is the first time to learn by MOOCs, it is a great thing I've done, because I've benefited more than I imagine, and I found my passion here and have known more information that enable me to learn.

I'm so happy that this course is my beginning.

according to Dr. Barbra, I did love her way to explain the material, I see she does her best to produce this course to the fullest.

Dr. Sejnowski , I did benefited from all you teach us and hope to learn more from you in the next courses.

Thanks all Doctors who contributed to this course.

By José L M A L

Dec 29, 2018

very excellent...

By mona m m m

Dec 29, 2018

it is one of the best courses ever, it have very useful ways and advices for learning ,i advice anyone to take it

By Pradeep M

Dec 30, 2018

An extremely useful course I would sincerely recommend to any student.

By Mohamed R

Dec 30, 2018

very very good course , it is really has a good effect on my way of learning

By Alejandra G R

Dec 29, 2018

Hello, I liked it very much. I didn´t pay for the certificate because when I took Positive psychology I paid and NEVER recieve the certificate. I tried to communicate and there is no telephone nor contact to claim. I checked on the web and several people had gone through the same thing so im never paying again. Maybe you could help to improve this with coursera.

Nevertheless I loved your course. thankyou.

By nikhil b

Dec 29, 2018

I finished this course in 2015. I have come back to this course every year since. Finishing this course has acted the catalyst to supercharge my learning and also my career.

By Geordie w

Dec 30, 2018

I think this is the best course on Coursera

By Andreas P

Jan 12, 2019

This is great course, even if you're older and not a student anymore. The techniques described not only help with learning but also with getting work done more effectively. It is invigorating and helpful, and a pleasure to follow.

By Alexandre A C

Jan 13, 2019

I wish I had done this course before I started university, or even earlier in life!

By Md J A

Jan 12, 2019

Barbara Oakley, Ma'am you are the best teacher, you teach so well and patiently.

By Sam M

Jan 11, 2019

Such an amazing course, I highly recommend this course to everyone. If you want to become sharper, improve your memory or just see where your at and want to learn new things, this course gives you the tools and frame of mind to be able to learn anything competently and efficiently.

By Kassey P

Jan 11, 2019

As a highly educated professional, this course is mind blowing (no pun intended)! Informative, fun and powerful. I'm excited to share information with others and enhance my life. Also, incredible insight gained as a parent to help my kids with their learning as well!

By Nelson B

Jan 12, 2019

esay and usefull